Michigan, Maryland crack preseason poll


Michigan will prepare for the 2016 season with a ranking next to its name.

On Monday, Collegiate Baseball released its preseason Fabulous 40 poll for the 2016 season. One of six recognized polls in college baseball, Collegiate Baseball continued its history of being the first publication to release a preseason poll.

Following a 2015 season where the Big Ten produced a conference-record five NCAA Tournament teams, for a second consecutive preseason Collegiate Baseball has ranked multiple Big Ten teams.

After Maryland, Nebraska and Illinois opened the 2015 season as Collegiate Baseball’s No. 37, 38 and 40 clubs, respectively, Michigan leads the way heading into the 2016 season ranked No. 23, followed by the Terrapins at No. 28.

Continue reading

Tagged ,

Mid-October roundup

Predicted by one as the player of the year, Ryan Boldt is expected the lead Nebraska back to a regional.

Junior center fielder Ryan Boldt will look to lead Nebraska back to the NCAA Tournament

Leaves are showing hues of red, orange and yellow, the calendar has crossed October’s mid-point and teams are concluding intra-squad series as the fall practice season is in its final days across the Big Ten.

And yet, there’s no shortage of news and notes around conference programs. Here’s the latest.

Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Early October roundup

Conference play begins this weekend with five Big Ten series.

Two more Big Ten programs have announced their 2016 schedule.

The fall practice season is winding down. As teams hold workouts and scrimmages for professional scouts and engage in intra-squad series, days are dwindling for full-team exercises.

While coaches may prepare for a quieter period of instruction, as well as recruiting, there is still news and notes to relay regarding Big Ten baseball programs. Here’s a roundup of ongoings from the early part of October.

Continue reading

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,